Of reviews and ratings

thoughtsI recently read a book,Gamer Girl by Mari Mancusi.  It wasn’t a unique story:  it was predictable almost the the point of being boring.  The writing was plain and the characters left almost no impression on me.  One character was also basically named and described as Chad Michael Murry.  

However, in the end I gave the book 4 stars.  

How can this be with the number of problems the book had?  By all accounts it should have gotten much less.  Typically it would have gotten a much lower ratings.  But it didn’t.  

This is where the magical cauldron of book reviews comes in to play.  I started reading the book not really knowing too much about it and several hours later I put it back on the library shelf very content.  There was just something about the book that I needed to read in that moment, a predictability that was extremely satisfying.  I suspect a lot of it has to do with my own personal discovery of the online world and that there are people that can like you as you without ever having met you before.  That online life can be an escape from whatever you happen to be dealing with in your, so called ‘real’ life.  

Years from now I doubt I will remember much about the book and should I ever re-read it I will likely wonder how I gave it such a good review, but that doesn’t matter.  In the moment the book did what it was supposed to do.   Some books you just happen to pick up at the right time.  

Leave a Reply

