Quick review: The Selection by Kiera Cass

I wasn’t planning to post the review I wrote for The Selection by Kiera Cass on here as I thought it was one of those quick reads,  write a few lines and move on the to next book type of book but then I ended up writing a lengthy review on Goodreads that I thought I would post here.  Even though it’s a fairly long review, I’m going to call this a ‘Quick Review’ since I don’t provide a summary it or go to critically in depth with the review, just general opinions.  

3.5 starsFrom Goodreads: The start of 2016 has been filled with fluffy, predictable, ‘I can’t believe I’m reading this’ type of reads. This is another on the list. It’s been on the to read list because I was curious but knew exactly what type of book it would be and then yesterday, for whatever reason I REALLY REALLY needed to read it, NOW. Funny enough basically every single copy in all the library systems I am a part of were out and had a mile long waiting list. I don;t know what that is about, book club or something? Anyway I got a hold of it and read it all in one sitting finishing it at around 6 am. It was exactly what I thought it would be, but that is actually a good thing because it was what I wanted to read. Overall 3.5 stars.

Going more in depth on my thoughts, I am so, so glad it’s Maxon and not Jaxon because there have been way too many books recently that have used that name and spelling and it’s getting on my nerves. Maxon’s character really could have gone a few ways but since I kinda know how this all turns out I wasn’t surprised with his characteristics and it was fun to play with the expectation versus reality thing however part of me wanted to see what it would have been like if he was a more antagonistic personality.

The name America I guess made sense but annoyed me because it follows the trend of needing protagonists with weird first names. I think authors try to strive for different or unique but most just hit weird. Her name is not bed weird and there have been worse ones. America’s character strived to have a balance of good and not good qualities but leaned heavy on the good while other girls in the book had a heavy-handed dash of bad without good. Personality wise, nothing really stood out about her to me but at the same time her reactions to things are very similar to how I would have reacted in that situation.

I will say that these predictable ‘I can’t believe I’m reading this’ novels have a lot of men force kissing women in them without any negative consequences. Guys, that is not romantic, it’s assault.

Finally, I wanted to say that the biggest annoyance I have with the story line was that nothing happened. If I had bought this book I would have been very disappointed because I spent 20$ or more to have to wait for the next book or the third one for something to happen.

 

Leave a Reply

