Intimidating TBR tag

green tagDisclaimer: I am trying to fill this out with books I own but have not read yet, but I don’t think I’ll be able to answer all the questions with the about a dozen books that I owe but have not read (plus half of them are packed and buried so its going by memory…).  Thus if I can’t think of anything I will consult my lengthy list of books I’m interested in reading on Goodreads.  Also many of these books could be in more than one category. 

1. What book have you been unable to finish?

Way of Shadows by Brent Weeks.  There was a several year time jump and I was in the middle of a busy time in my Master’s so I put it down and haven’t picked it back up.  Also Game of Thrones by GRR Martin, but I have basically given up on that by now. 

2. What book have you yet to read because you just haven’t had the time?

Storm Glass by Maria V Snyder.  It’s been on my shelf for a while but I haven’t had the time to devote to starting a new series that I highly expect I will love (but do have time to start a series I might not like?).

3. What book have you yet to read because it’s a sequel?

Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas.  Again, I highly expect to like this book so I haven’t started it yet.  Also the last of the Seven Realms books, Crimson Crown by Cinda Williams Chima. 

4. What book have you yet to read because it’s brand new?

Nothing on my shelf but one of my anticipated reads that was recently released (and thus would be hard to get a copy of from the library) is Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire.  Or Passanger by Alexandra Bracken.  Or Games Wizards Play by Diane Duane, which I still need to read a few books before I get to it. 

5. What book have you yet to read because you read a book by the same author and didn’t enjoy it?

I don’t really have an answer for this because if I have read one book by and author and don’t like it I typically don’t return but if I have read several books by and author and then hit one I don’t like I don’t hold it against them as there is always the odd book, that being said I read a book recently by Eoin Colfer that really makes me hesitant to pick up another of his novels.  However, I think I will have to say something by Patrick Ness as I didn’t really love The Rest of us Just Live Here but have heard good things about his other novels and I know he is a great person in real life. 

6. What book have you yet to read because you’re just not in the mood for it?

Land of Painted Caves (Earth’s Children #6) by Jean M Auel.  Heavy historical Adult fiction.  Need to be in the right mood for it.  Also it’s about 750 pages long and a chunky hardcover book. 

7. What book have you yet to read because it’s humongous?

It’s not that big but Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes.  It has about 4/5 books that follow it, though, and is talked about like Game of Thrones and has many points of view so it’s humongous in spirit.  

8. What book have you yet to read because because it was a cover buy that turned out to have poor reviews?

I don’t cover only buy books, though I was really tempted with Rook by Sharon Cameron and have since read it (after reading the mixed reviews on it).  Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge is another book that has caught my eye but is the second book in a retelling series, which is not particularly my cup of tea plus I’ve heard mixed things. 

9. What is the most intimidating book in your TBR pile?

The Diviner by Melanie Rawn.  Bought it years ago because I wanted to read another book by her but it was recommended that I read this one first.  It travelled with me to Scotland and I never got more then 30 pages into the book.  Really don’t know much about this one or the other one at this point and it’s sitting around collecting dust.  Also a book I got from a friend last Christmas, Brimestone by Preston and Child because it’s in a series (but it sounds like it does not need to be read in order), is their favourite and I know nothing about it.  Also it’s a weird size/shape.  Yes that matters.  

10. What book have you not read because it’s a new author and that’s scary?

Half Bad by Sally Green.  Heard good things and the hard cover novel was on sale last time I walked into a book store, but still haven’t read it yet.  

One thought on “Intimidating TBR tag

  1. Pingback: Top 5 Wednesday: Most Recent Additions to Your Wishlist – Never Seen A Nevergreen

Leave a Reply

