Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Character Names

topSo I have known about this weekly blog post prompt for a while now and only rarely look up what the month’s topics are and often decide not to write a post for the month/week’s topic.  However the month of June has some fantastic topics and so I will be partaking in Top 5 Wednesday a few times this month!  I hope you are excited. post.

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey and is hosted by Sam at thoughtsontombs. Sam is actually the one that first got me thinking about the topic of female friendships several months ago and thus spawned two different blog posts of mine which were fairly popular.  If you want to know more about Top 5 Wednesday, you can check out the Goodreads page.

Typically I’m not one for loving or hating character names, though Jaxon or a variation on it is becoming all too popular for my taste, but the names on this list just have a certain something to them that I love.  I know a large part of it is because I can pronounce them as I do have trouble with names and foreign or unknown words in general.  The fact that 80% of this list is male likely says more about me then anyone needs to know.  So without further ado, my top 5 character names:

1. Torcall Jupp (M) is side character in Bloodhound, Book #2 in the Beka Cooper triology by Tamora Pierce – has a great ring to it

2. Taybur Sibigat (M) is a side character with a lot of sass in Tricker’s Queen, Book #2 in a duology by Tamora Pierce – another one with a great ring

3. Vidanric (Renselaeus; M) is the main character of A Stranger to Command, a standalone prequel to Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith – I love the strong male first name

4. Keladry of Mindelan (F) is the main character in the Protector of the Small Quartet also by Tamora Pierce – again a nice ring to it, but also I love this character

5. Leander (Hastings; M) is a side character in The Warrior Heir by Cinda Williams Chima – this book is the first time I encountered this name and I love it

Honourable mentions:

Merrick (M) also from the Protector of the Small

Fisk (M) from The Last Knight by Hilari Bell

Trisana Chandler (F) in The Emalan books by Tamora Pierce

Belden of Dunlath in Wolf Speaker by Tamora Pierce (seriously guys, TP has about 30 books worth of character names, and many of them are brilliant)

And bonus favourite kingdom name: tied between Tortall and Farsala

 

Leave a Reply

