Reading habits tag

green tag1. Where do you read in your home?

I read all over my home, but I most often read in my bed.  Second most often on the couch, third at the kitchen table, forth and fifth are roughly equal and those are outside and in the bathroom.  

2. Do you use a bookmark or something handy?

Mostly something handy, which is generally the library receipt slip, but I have bought a few beautiful bookmarks recently that I want to start using more.  However, I’m afraid I will lose them in library books when I take them back, so I don’t use them as much as I would like. 

3. Can you stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter or page break?

Yes I can stop reading, though my brain prefers a break of some kind, I generally start reading after the break then want to finish the section…. it’s a nasty spiral.  Thus I have learned to stop in the middle of the page.  Also avoids mini cliffhangers.  Plus in science when reading during incubations, often you have to run in the middle of the page to do something. 

4. Do you eat or drink while reading?

Yes, often.  Didn’t realize this was even a questionable thing to do. 

5. Music or TV while reading?

I can read with these things going on, but in general I do not actively choose to have tv or music on while reading. 

6. One book at a time or several at once?

Generally, only one at a time due to reading books fast (within a day for about 60% of books I read) however I am good with keeping track of stories and details, so I’m not bothered by more than one at once. But when that happens that means the first book is doing a terrible job at holding my attention.

7. Reading only at home or everywhere?

Mostly everywhere but I do prefer to read when I know I have more then a 15 minute stretch of uninterrupted time so I don’t tend to read in short 2 minute bursts on say buses or in lines.  

8. Do you read ahead or skip pages?

I do not and think this is a terrible habit for people to have, (talking to you, Mom).  However, I *do* have to watch myself as in the middle of an action-packed scene I will tend to skip paragraphs or look over at the opposite page to see what is happening, something I hate doing and required me to cover up the page to force myself not to read ahead.  Otherwise, if I’m super super bored but want to know how the book ends I will skim.  

9. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

DO NOT EVER BREAK A SPIN!  THEY ARE TOO IMPORTANT AND PRECIOUS. 

10. Do you write in your books?

Only textbooks.

 

Leave a Reply

