Book theme songs (past Top 5 Wednesday topic)

Music-Notes-640x1136This was originally a Top 5 Wednesday topic (more info here), however there is really only one song that I instantly associate with a book.  To this day I can’t listen to the song without thinking of the book and I can’t think about the book without thinking of this song.

I found Skinny Love around the time I (finally) got my hands on Mastiff by Tamora Pierce.  First through the famous Birdy cover but I listened to the Bon Iver original version right after the cover and listened to both equally while reading the book.  When I listen to a (great) cover of a song first, before the original version, the cover of the song is the one I typically prefer.  It’s the rule of firsts.  However, this song is one of the rare times that I love both the cover which I listened to first and the original song.

On the surface I don’t these two are really well associated with each other.

Mastiff is the third book in a trilogy that follows a junior member of a medieval police force that attempts to tackle crime in the poorest regions of the capital city.  In this book Beka Cooper deals with a kidnapping case that seems to be tied to the slave trade.

Skinny love is a song about love going sour:

Come on skinny love just last the year
Pour a little salt we were never here
My, my, my, my, my, my, my, my
Staring at the sink of blood and crushed veneer

However, both the book and the song provoke strong emotion in me.  Then there is The Thing.  In capitals.  If you have read the book you know what The Thing is.  The Thing is not talked about by members of the fandom as it is very controversial.  I bring up The Thing as it does somewhat tie the song to the end of Mastiff.  

Do any of the books you have read have a theme song?

 

2 thoughts on “Book theme songs (past Top 5 Wednesday topic)

  1. I love Skinny Love! Such a good song – both the Bon Iver original and Birdy’s cover. I don’t normally listen to music whilst I’m reading unless I’m reading somewhere noisy, like on a train or something, so I haven’t found any book theme songs yet to be honest, though I want to. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

