Relation’ships’ I didn’t connect with

listGenerally speaking, I like the who the main character of a book ends up with in whatever form of relationship they choose by the end of the book.  This means I almost never ‘ship’ characters with other characters that they didn’t end up with.  However, there have been a few relationships that I haven’t connected with (but never shipped the characters with alternate people).

Disclaimer: while writing the first example I realised that I could do this with spoilers for series or without.   I have opted for a mix of no spoilers for less common books and spoilers for common ones.  ‘Common’ is defined as, is there a movie out? since that seems to be a good(ish) measure of popularity of a novel. 

1. Beka Cooper and her ultimate choice (Beka Cooper trilogy by Tamora Pierce)

I didn’t connect to the character that she picked on the first, second or fifth re-read for reasons that I can’t really place a finger on other then a general unremarkableness and some mild expectant spoilery type feelings.  Still absolutely LOVED this series and the finale despite my dislike for the end pairing. 

2. Harry Potter and Ginny Weasley (Harry Potter series by JK Rowling)

I liked Ron and Hermione, possibly even more as an adult then as a child, but even as a child I never really ‘got’ Harry and Ginny.  This is nothing against Ginny as a character, as I love her.  However I seem to have a hard time really getting behind them being together.   

3. Katniss and Peeta (The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins)

I admit, typically the first character introduced is the one I root for in the end.  In this case upon reading the first and second books I was rooting (while secretly trying not to root for) Gale.  However, I never hated Peeta, I just never connected to him as a character as much, possibly because I ‘saw’ him through Katniss’ eyes, which let’s face it, didn’t show him in the best of lights for most of the first two books. By the end of the third book, though, I just really wanted her to be by herself. 

4. Simon Snow and Bae (Carry On by Rainbow Rowell) 

This relationship seemed forced.  Maybe if the book wasn’t so much a recap of a bunch of years worth of history for the characters the eventual ‘and then they hooked up’ would not have seemed so out of place.  Don’t get me wrong, I knew from the beginning what was going to happen and was looking out for the signs but even then….

5. Quentin Coldwater and his hookup (The Magicians by Lev Grossman)

Even typing his name brings me back to Eliot’s reaction to his name in the TV show.  So. Perfect.  Anyway, I could say who he is with seeing how there is a TV show, but I won’t.  I don’t like it because Quentin is a whiney manchild and she can do better.  Also she didn’t have much of a personality for me to really get behind her dating anyone in the book…  

3 thoughts on “Relation’ships’ I didn’t connect with

  1. Hello again, Evergreen! Nice post!

    Yeah, I also had a hard time with Katniss choosing Peeta, mostly because Gale was her best friend. But the romance never exactly sizzled, in this series. I suppose that wasn’t the point. It was more about the philosophy represented by each of the boys, and how it balanced Katniss’s own philosophy. And I do like Peeta, too, in the end 😉 He’s a sweetheart and actually tougher than he sounds.

    I really enjoyed the Beka Cooper series as a teen, but I actually don’t even remember the romance! Haha. Beka was so awesome that her beau must have been almost a second thought, to me. (Although Kel is my favorite heroine evaaaa, and I do remember her love interests. But that’s probably because I read them so many times, they’re tattooed on psyche 😄 )

    Liked by 1 person

    • KEL IS THE BEST AND MY FAVOURITE. Beka’s romantic relationships were not the main focus of the book (as is typical of TP’s writing) so it’s not surprising that you might not remember who it was in the end (plus the person was fairly unremarkable to me).

      As for Peeta, I didn’t really feel like in the books he had a personality but I think it’s because we saw him through Katniss’ eyes. The movies did him so much justice though.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

