The next 20

I had planned to do one of these every 10 books, but I forgot until I was at 27 books so far in the year and figured I would wait until I hit 30.  Between crazy overtime at work and other life thing, several months passed before I, finally, got to 30 books.

30 books is 60% of my reading goal for the year, thus I’m in the home stretch. I was about 5-7 books ahead of the game for the half of the year however life happens as it does and I got to 8 behind before a massive push to finish off one of the books that was dragging and I’d had from the library for 3 months set me back on track.  After that book I knew exactly what I wanted to read and nailed 3 books in about 5 days meaning I’m only 5 behind.  

Read so far:

11. The Selection by Kiera Cass     3/5 stars

12. The Elite by Keira Cass     2.5-3/5 stars

13. The One by Kiera Cass     3/5 stars

14. The Heir by Keira Cass     3/5 stars

15. Shades of Doon by Lorie Langdon and Carey Corp     2/5 stars

16. Carry On by Rainbow Rowell     1.5-2/5 stars

17. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone     5/5 stars

18. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets     4.5/5 stars

19. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban     5/5 stars

20. Princess Academy by Shannon Hale     3.5/5 stars

21. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire     5/5 stars

22. Finding Our Balance by Lauren Hopkins     3.5/5 stars

23. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenex     4.5/5 stars

24. Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince     4.5/5 stars

25. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows     5/5 stars

26. The Magicians by Lev Grossman     2/5 stars

27. Wizards at War by Diane Duane     4/5 stars

28. Saga by Conor Kostick     3/5 stars

29. Storm Glass by Maria V Snyder    4/5 stars

30. Sea Glass by Maria V Snyder     4/5 stars

Average book rating: 3.7

Average new book rating (excludes re-reads): 3.0

Comments:  Interesting reading choices and ratings in this section of the reading challenge.  I remember reading the first 3 of the 4 Kiera Cass books in about 30 hours, an exhausting record for me, made all the more strange by the fact that I really didn’t like the books, I just wanted to know what happened as was in a mood for terrible plotted, predictable books.  

I mentioned a reading stall occurring at the end of this list but I think I have moved past it since I read 3 books (all of them 400-500 pages) in the span of 5 days with work and job interviews and travelling.  Quite an accomplishment!  Obviously I would have liked to have gotten to this point in my reading challenge faster but I’m more happy that I seem to be back on track to finishing. 

Many of the books I read on this list were re-reads and many were read via audiobook.  Additionally, one of the books I read and reviewed was independently published book which I think is awesome!  Support indy authors.  

 Re-reading Harry Potter was not because I was in the middle of several months of not reading (that happened after the re-reads).  Rather, I was just craving a Harry Potter re-read.  I also didn’t read any of the books I thought I was going to until the most recent few. 

As for the fairly low ratings in this list, I knew I was unlikely to like Carry On but I read it because I was in a magic school kick and I was curious how bad of a rip off of Harry Potter it was.  The Magicians was also due to the magic school kick and I didn’t end up liking it as must as a lot of other people did.  I also knew I was unlikely to love the Selection series but I was curious and wanted a more silly/terrible contemporary read at the time.  And I continued on with a series or two that I knew I wasn’t going to love the next book but I wanted to see where the story went. 

On my reading goals:  For the rest of the year I want to try and finish/continue some of the series I have started but have yet to finish or have put down.  Also I have a few half read books and a handful of bought books that I haven’t read yet that I want to read.  These three tasks have a lot of overlap and I’m not going to put numbers on them because I want to, first and foremost, enjoy reading, rather then just read to accomplish a task.  

I do also want to write something about my re-read of Harry Potter and have actually started a post on it but have yet to complete it.  Hopefully I can get to it before it feels like it has been too long so why bother.  

Continue with these list posts but don’t wait so long nest time!

What’s next: Carry on with this reading binge and hope it brings be back in line with completing by reading goal of 50 books!

4 thoughts on “The next 20

    • Nope, the last of the Glass series by Maria V Snyder. Sometime today I’ll be writing a large (or maybe two large) posts going through my thoughts on the series and outlining my issues. Just have to figure out how to do it while avoiding as many spoilers for people that haven’t read the series. That’s why I’ll likely do 2 posts.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

