Unpopular opinions book tag

tagI’ve wanted to do this tag for a while but I only now have some good answers for the questions!  No one tagged me but I’m doing it anyway because that is how I roll. 

1. A Popular Book or series that you didn’t like.

Fangirl and Carry On by Rainbow Rowell.  I don’t hate them, I just find them ‘meh’ to everyone else’s absolute 100% adoration of these books. 

Divergent by Veronica Roth. I would have liked them a touch more if I could get into the writing style of Roth, but it made me cringe too much. 

2. A Popular Book or series that every one else seems to hate but you love.

Hmm, hard one really since most books I love are just not well known instead of not well liked.  

3. A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with.

The glass series has a sort-of love triangle/square thing happening that I really, really hated the outcome to, a first for me.  Normally the character ends up with the person I liked best or I didn’t care one way or another but this time I had really intense feelings about the ending relationship (for more I have a spoiler post up on my blog). 

Also I wanted Katniss to end up with herself at the end, since I think that would have been best for her.  

4. A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for.

I almost never read paranormal books, even less of it’s paranormal romance.  It’s just not my thing.  Also Classics because I hate pretentious writing. 

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

The main characters of Carry On (of which I can only remember Baz’s and Penny’s?? names).  I just didn’t find them interesting but I didn’t hate them.  

6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

Long list here, but off the top of my head: Cassandra Claire (because she is a dick to fans), John Green (not my style of author/writing), Stefenie Meyer (not my type of genera/author), Rainbow Rowell (not my type of genera/author), etc. 

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

There are a lot of tropes that get on my nerves, but more because they are done terribly and repeatedly.  I think all tropes can be done well given the right author and attention to detail.  There really isn’t one that is worse then another for me since there are just so many that I’m sick of seeing done terribly.

Actually, I take that back.  The trope I’m the most sick of seeing is the bland female main character and somehow saves the entire world and gets a boyfriend (or three!!) while being as flat as a paper towel.  Also as white as one.  

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

Basically see #6 plus a few others. 

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

The Magicians by Lev Grossman was on one hand better then the books (Shout out to Eliot and his actor here) but on the other hand the book was better.  

Similar thing with Game of Thrones.  The books were better for giving more background into the headspace of the characters but they were heavy books, whereas the tv show does fantastic at bringing them to life and and costuming, man.  Love it. 

Leave a Reply

