The Nintendo Book Tag

tagI’m not one to really play games on a game system mostly because I’m cheap and have weird taste in games.  Plus until recently I never really had to time to do so.  But I liked the questions on this one so I thought I’d do it.  As always, wasn’t tagged and not really going to tag people.  

NES (Nintendo Entertainment System): A classic you want to read

The Hitchhiker’s guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams.  Been in a SciFi kick lately and I really want to read this one. 

SNES (Super Nintendo): A sequel you liked more than the first (can be a second book in a series)

The third and the fourth books in the Protector of the Small series (Tamora Pierce) are some of my favourite books ever.  That’s not to say I disliked the first two books, there is just something about having more space and time to tell the event of the latter books that makes them so good.

Nintendo 64: A book that revolutionized the way you look at the world

I can’t think of one that ‘revolutionize’ how I look at the world since there are many parts of many books that have done this, but recently I realized that The Gift of Fear by Gavin de Backer has stayed with me for a long time and I really do think that everyone should read it.  

Gamecube: A popular book that did not go over so well with you

There are lots here and if you look at any of my other tag posts, this question has a 90% chance of being answered there.  No need to beat a dead horse. 

Wii: A new favourite book

I haven’t had a favourite book in a while (meaning like a year or so) since most of the books I have read in the past year have fallen under the ‘meh’ category, though there are a few books on my TRB pile that I think will become favourites.  If you are talking just this year, 2016, my favourite so far is Epic by Conor Kostick.  If you are talking the most recent book to hit my favourite of all time, that would likely be Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. 

Nintendo Power: Favourite graphic novel series or a series you want to start

I have not read any graphic novels, though I’m eagerly awaiting the Protector of the Small series being made into a graphic novel.  There are a manga I have read and liked, but I think to answer this question, I will go with the second part.  The series I really want to start but have yet to is Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes, which I bought before all the hype (years ago) but just have not read yet.  

Super Mario: A character that you’d love to squish like a Goomba

The Nothing Man.    

Zelda: A newer fantasy that you consider to be a modern classic

Hmm hard one.  One could go with Harry Potter, but that is the obvious choice.  I could also do something Tamora Pierce but that is predictable of me and they are perhaps not known as well as a modern classic should be. Most of the fantasy I have read and loved recently has not had that special something that would be needed to be a classic. 

Samas-Aran: Favourite sci-fi novel or one you want to read

Favourite SciFi: Illuminae by Amie Kuafmann and Jay Kristoff

One I want to read (besides the one already mentioned): The Three Body Problem by Liu Cixin

Pokemon: Book editions that you want to collect

I’ve recently been collecting a few of the different editions of Tamora Pierce’s novels since they are going through an edition update.  Also there are so many Harry Potter editions that I want I can’t pick just one (I need to buy a set but I can’t pick so I have not yet).  Obviously the solution is to collect them all!

Donkey Kong: A book with original characters

Pick any of Tamora Pierce’s works since she does extended casts so well.

Nintendo Fandom: Favorite Nintendo game(s) or game

Likely Pokemon, but not Pokemon Go.  But also Harvest Moon. 

 

Leave a Reply

