Books with TV/movie adaptions I want to read first

It is either the bane of a reader’s existence or one of the most fantastic ‘trends’ in Hollywood and TV right now: the seeming large number of adaptions of books that are being made into TV shows or Movies.  (I say ‘trend’ because it is a thing that has happened as long as TV and movies have existed but the current ‘trend’ is away from more literary type novels and towards more YA and/or fantasy novels, aka the stuff that I like!!)

Some readers love book adaptations, others don’t want to see their favourite novels anywhere but in their head.  Both are perfectly fine viewpoints to have.  As for me, I sit on the side of “I think this is great but now I need to read XYZ books before I can watch the adaptations because we all know that the book is better then the adaptation will be”.  

So here are a few upcoming or more recent adaptations that I really want to see, but have not yet read the source material, aka the XYZ books, and really should get on that.

1. The Shannara Chronicles by Terry Brooks

2. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

3. Any of Brandon Sanderson’s works (just got signed on for 3 different novel to movie adaptions so there are a few to pick from)

4. The Martian by Andy Weir

5. The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey (kinda mixed on whether I want to read this one since I don’t think it’s for me, but I do want to see the movie)

6. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by JK Rowling

7. American Gods by Neil Gaiman

8. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

There are a few other rumours of books that’ll be made into something or other but since nothing too conclusive is out about them, I have left them off the list.  For now. 

A side note as I make this list I notice most/all of these authors are white males.  Perhaps a good topic to discuss in a later post.  If someone else has written or decides to write a blog on this topic, please link it to me!

2 thoughts on “Books with TV/movie adaptions I want to read first

  1. I feel the same way about adaptions! I like to read the books first, too. I read The Martian almost solely because I wanted to see the movie with Matt Damon. (The movie was better, imo.) I didn’t love the book or the movie of The Fifth Wave, unfortunately. (The book was better, though.)

    What about The Magicians tv series or the Before I Fall movie? I’m super excited about the latter 😀 I don’t read a lot of contemporary, but I read that one as a teen and I loooooove the bittersweet paranormal ending.

    Like

Leave a Reply

