Mid-year Freak Out Book Tag

tagWhy yes, I am doing this at the end of the year instead of when I was tagged by the lovely Kayla at Kdrewk the book worm back in JULY!!! Thanks for the tag Kayla!  I did say I was going to get around to this…. Better late then never?

For this type of tag I like to answer the questions with books that are not re-reads whenever possible and that is part of the reason why I waited to do this tag since most of the books I had read in July were either re-reads or not too interesting books to really answer these questions with. So without further ado, the questions!

Best book you’ve read so far in 2016

At this point I think it’s Night Study by Maria V Snyder due to like one really awesome chapter that I loved.

Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2016

Well, same book as above.  Basically every other sequel I have read has been a re-read, or on the ‘meh’ side of things. A Wizard’s Holiday (Diane Duane) and Sea Glass (Snyder) were also good sequels.

New release you haven’t read yet but want to AND Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff,

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

[Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire]

Biggest disappointment

Tied between The Magicians by Lev Grossman and The Reluctant Assassin (WRAP #1) by Eoin Colfer.

Biggest surprise

Gamer Girl by Mari Mancusi

Epic by Conor Kostick

Favourite new author

I haven’t read a new author this year that I have fallen in love with.  Sadly.

Newest fictional crush

No one new and I don’t really crush on anyone anyway, sorry!  Actually, I guess I crush on Filif a little bit.  An evergreen tree magician with many many berry eye-type things and who love bright clothing ‘decorations’, what is not to love?.

Newest favourite character

Leif has developed into an interesting character.  I also love the Ari/Janco duo.  Then there is Filif, Sker’ret and S’reee which are rediscovered favourites.

Book that made you cry

None. I can only remember one book ever making me cry.

Book that made you happy

Night Study (again) because that one scene I can’t really talk about without spoilers.

Favourite book to film adaption

I can’t think of one atm.  I did like the TV adaptation of the magicians, though.

Favourite post you’ve done this year

Toooooo many to list!!  There are a good handful I love for various reasons.

Most beautiful book you’ve bought this year

As far as I can remember, I don’t think I remember buying any books this year which means I have had a successful book buying ban. So I’ll tell you the most beautiful book I have read this year.  Rook by Sharon Cameron is perhaps not the most beautiful but it did it’s job since it caught my eye in the bookstore and I needed to read it afterwards despite mixed reviews because the cover was so good and the blurb was interesting.

What book do you need to read by the end of the year

See this recent post on this topic!

I’m not going to tag anyone mostly because it’s too late in the year to tag someone and because I generally don’t tag people anyway.  If you want to do the tag please tell me you have done it so that I can read it!!

7 thoughts on “Mid-year Freak Out Book Tag

    • Poison Study is the first one! Also there are 2 ‘part’s the the study series, with another series that takes place in the middle, and some short stories as well. A few things are spoiled for that middle series in the second part of the Study set if don’t end up reading it, but its not the end of the world type of stuff. More of the cutesy romance how things ended sort of thing. If you have any questions on the order, ask me or look at Synder’s website! And last thing to really gush about in this long reply: Poison Study is soooooo Good!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, I do have questions about the order: so Poison Study first, and then after that should I just ask you what to read next to keep me from reading out of order? Would that be ok?
        I’ve been wanting to read it for awhile…I might even own it from a sale on Amazon. I have a lot of eBooks I bought on sale…so many that I’ve almost bought them again until Amazon stopped me. Once I even checked out a book on Overdrive that I already owned! Needless to say I wasn’t able to return it early because the library copy got absorbed into my own copy, and I had to wait the 21 days for someone to be able to check the book out! I felt so guilty about that!! I’m going to always check now before I check out an eBook on Overdrive too!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

