Oh look, a book haul! (finally)

If you haven’t noticed, this blog is not one that does book hauls all that often. Firstly, because I don’t buy a lot of books. In fact, these are the first two books I have bought in over a year and in all likelihood, the last ones for a while. Secondly, I don’t ever want to make anyone feel bad for not being able to buy books. I mostly read out of libraries since money is and has been tight in the past and I know a lot of other people are int he same boat as me. Plus, I like to know that I like or love the book before I spend money on it. Related to this, I never want to make others feel like they need to buy books or that they should buy books or that they need to read more. I want this to be some sort of safe bookish space for people.haul1All that being said, I was in a bookstore this weekend and I splurged and would like to share what I have bought for myself. I have yet to read these books, breaking an unspoken rule of mine, so they were a bit of a leap of faith for me!

So without any more boringness, let’s get to the books, shall we!

haul2

Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire

Published: April 5th 2016

Publisher: Tor Books

Pages: 173

Genera: Found in Adult Fantasy section

Series: Yes, first of 1 currently out

This first one I have been dying to read for months now but my library system does not have it.  It’s a newer release, from the beginning of the year.  I have it on good authority that it is AMAZING.  That plus the summary plus a spoiler that I have heard about the book, I think it’ll be great and that I’ll enjoy it.  I was hesitant about buying this book because it’s pricey for it’s length, but hopefully I will love it and not care once I read it!  Also, that cover is fabulous!  It definitely does not follow the thread of “terribly photoshopped white girl not looking at you” that has become so rampant in literature.  Finally, this book was found in the adult section, but I don’t think it’s outside the realm of YA reads?  I will keep you updated.

haul3

The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

Published: July 2014

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

Pages: 404

Genera: Found in Adult SciFi

Series: Yes, first of 2 currently released, more to come

This next book is another I have wanted to read for several months but, alas, the library does not have it.  It’s described as a character-focused SciFi which is right up my ally at the moment so I took a chance on it and bought it!  Plus, again, that cover sold me on it.  It’s too pretty and perfect and it makes me want to follow the trend of a front facing display book on my bookshelves.  It was also found in the Adult SciFi section, but I’ll keep you updated as to whether it can be read by younger crowds as well.  This one (and the previous one) is on the list of books I want to read before the year is over so I have to start cracking at it to get it read!

PS if the images are funny coloured its because I took them after dark in weird lighting with a phone whose camera only works 5% of the time so you gotta use it when it’s working! 

2 thoughts on “Oh look, a book haul! (finally)

Leave a Reply

