This Is My Genre, Tell Me Yours- Tag

tagI WAS TAGGED BY A PERSON!! This is only the second ever time I have been tagged in a thing, and this time I managed to get to it a lot sooner then the last tag I was tagged in.  I saw this tag as it started and wanted to do it, and then got actually tagged.  And promptly didn’t actually do the tag because I thought I would have the same answer to every question.  Then I said, screw that, if it’s all the same I might get people to read books by this amazing author!  Also, can I use the word tag in this post any more then I already have just now? Tag, tag, tag!

*Anyway*

The rules to this tag:

>Credit the badass Drew @The Tattooed Book Geek as the creator of the tag, either use the created tag name graphic or create your own and link back to his blog

>Answer the questions

>Tag as many people as you want

Special shout out to Heather at The Sassy Book Geek. For tagging me! Some great content over on her blog, please check her out! A favourite post of mine that she wrote discussed the never-ending debate of ebooks versus physical books.

1) What’s your favourite genre?

Fantasy!  The high and the low stuff, particularly those that have a medievalesque feel to them.  However, Scifi is starting to creep in and is duelling for favourite genera this year! 

2) Who’s your favourite author from the genre?

My tied favourite authors are Tamora Pierce for young adult/middle grade books (still good for adult readers!) and Sherwood Smith for adult readers (she has some young adult books as well).  

Attempting to creep in to my favourite authors is Maria V Snyder

3) What is it about the genre that keeps pulling you back?

Escapism.  I read to leave my reality for a while and to have fun with what I read.  Fantasy does that for me!  Also I love reading about the types of things that show up in fantasy: sassy horses, dragons, wizards and magic, griffins….

4) What’s the book that started your love for your favourite genre?

First Test (and the rest of the Protector of the Small Quartet) by Tamora Pierce.  These were read way before Harry Potter and were my true childhood. 

5) If you had to recommend at least one book from your favourite genre to a non-reader/someone looking to start reading that genre, what book would you choose and why?

The Protector of the Small series for sure, for those younger readers looking to make in roads in the genera.  It’s more low fantasy so it very easy to get into the world and it’s so so good with great themes throughout. 

Some other good ones are Graceling by Kristen Cashore, Green Rider by Kristen Britain, Crown Dual by Sherwood Smith and Poison Study by Maria V Snyder. 

6) Why do you read?

Again, Escapism.  Life is heavy, hard stuff.  Reading is my relaxation. 

Tagging peoples:

Teacher of YA

Christy at Christy Luis reviews

Nil at The book Window

Kim at By hook or by Book

Hopefully none of you have done this yet and you would like to!

6 thoughts on “This Is My Genre, Tell Me Yours- Tag

Leave a Reply

