The last ten(ish)

Finally, the last few books I read this year!  I did manage to finish off my Reading Challenge of 50 books, but I have thoughts on this that I’ll get into in the bottom of this post and in others wrapping up this year and starting the next year.

Read:

41. Year Zero by Bob Reid     2.5 stars

42. The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee    4.5 stars

43. Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire     3.5-4 stars

44. The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers     4.5 stars

45. A Wizard of Mars by Diane Duane     3 stars

46. Thief! by Megan Whalen Turner     4 stars

47. Harry Potter the Prequel by JK Rowling     4 stars

48. Quidditch through the Ages by JK Rowling     4 stars

49. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by JK Rowling     3.5 stars

50. Tales of Beedle the Bard by JK Rowling     3.5 stars

51. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galexy by Douglas Adams    1.5-2 stars

Average book rating: 3.5 stars

Comments:

Firstly: I did complete my Goodreads Challenge!  I didn’t think I would by the end but I did the predictable thing and read a bunch of tiny things to finish it off.  I started out thinking 50 was a fairly reasonable and easy target for me to hit but the life happens (as it does).  

I do feel like I cheated slightly as I read a lot of tiny ‘books’ at the end to finish off my year, like 2 of them were less then 10 pages type of tiny, yet they did have Goodreads pages for them so I counted them – never mind the fact I don’t think they even should have had pages for them at all!  Why did I read them and count them?  In part to beat the challenge, in part to get them off my to-read pile, in part as I was waiting on a highly anticipated book from the library and didn’t want to be in the middle of another book when I finally got my hands on it so small things were the perfect waiting material to read.  (Sadly that book I was highly anticipating got to me too late to be able to finish it this year, but it’ll be a great one to start the new year with!)

Most of the books in this last part of the year were really good 4 star reads, too tiny to really be given any other rating then 4 or 3.5 stars or were very ‘meh’ books that missed their mark with me.  The tiny books I didn’t like or love but they were not really long enough to hold much against them, hence the 3.5 or 4 star rating. 

Year Zero was one of those that hit their mark.  It was a random book I discovered through a recommendation on another book I was looking at on Goodreads and not typically something I would see and thus read.  Though it did fit in nicely into my SciFi kick I’ve had going on all year, thanks to Illuminae and a few others I read at the end of last year.  Sadly it hit it’s mark but I don’t regret reading it as  few good laughs were gained from that book.  Funny enough I thought after reading Year Zero I was going to like The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy better then Year Zero, due to the hype and cult status, but this ultimately was not the case.  

I also got to read a few of my highly anticipated books in this last stretch and I loved basically all of them!  Sure one also ended up on my most disappointing reads for 2016, but that was because I was expecting so much and it didn’t quite get to where I thought it would.  It was still an excellent book.  

Overall, excellent end to the year!

On My reading goals: Stay tuned for a summary post coming out once I write it!

What’s next: New goals!  More books!  More posts!

Leave a Reply

