Top Five Wednesday: Polarizing Reads

topThese are supposed to be book you love that people either love or hate, but several books on this list are books that I hated, but I could see how others love.

Top 5 Wednesday is host over on Goodreads by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes.

1. Beauty Queens by Libba Bray – this is a satirical book that just did not work for me but I can see why people would like it.

2. Spy Glass by Maria V Synder – the main character is in a relationship which started off abusive and squicks me out sooooo much and is hand waved away.  Also there are certain scene in this novel that I’m not a fan of and the over abundance of kidnapping in this book annoys me.  However, some people can over look all these flaws and love it?

3. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff – not as polarizing as others, but most people that dislike this book have and issue with the epistolary nature of how it’s written, which is not for everyone.  I, personally, loved this book.

4. Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire – another one I liked but not everyone does and I can see why.  Part is the graphic nature of the plot and frank talk about sex and gender identity.  

5. The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee – It’s compared to gossip girl and is a guilty-pleasure type read, so it’s definitely not for everyone, but I enjoyed it. 

Honourable mention: The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers – its not action paced which many people want in SciFi, also has frank talk of sex and sexuality that not everyone is is comfortable with. 

 

8 thoughts on “Top Five Wednesday: Polarizing Reads

  1. So, I am so glad to see you say this about Spy Glass. I have been saying this for ages! I think people try to ignore it so they can continue on enjoying Maria V Snyder’s books, but after Opal married her abuser I was done. I love Poison Study. It is one of my very favorite books. But it was downhill for there and the relationship between Opal and Devlen is just unacceptable.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wrote an entire post about this topic when I was reading the glass series. It was just so so so gross and I don’t understand how people could like it or how they did the hand-wavy mental magic he’s changed and all better as a way to make it right. If you replace ‘blood magic’ with ‘cocaine use’ and went through that scenario you would feel (I would hope) totally different about it, so why does it being magic make it ok??

      Liked by 1 person

      • Even if you don’t replace magic with drugs you still have the kidnapping and torture to deal with. While addiction motivated those actions (regardless of the substance), it doesn’t excuse them.

        I had a similar problem with Tahereh Mafi’s Shatter Me Series. Fans seem to like the Villain rehabilitation plot. They like the idea of being able to change someone with a horrible past into a good person. Somehow that is sexy to them. What they don’t consider is that it sets a bad precedent for young girls. It tells them it is ok to return to med who have abused them. That eventually they will be able to stop them. They will be able to change them. It will all end in happily ever after. That truth of the matter is, it rarely does.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Good list! I read several polarized reviews on The Thousandth Floor. And I can’t believe I still haven’t read Illuminae XD Need to get on that. Maybe after I finally finish Words of Radiance!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great list! And yeah, I can definitely see why you’d put Every Heart a Doorway on here (I’ve made no secret of how much I love that story, I know I know). The way they address gender and sexuality in the story could definitely be off-putting to some, though it made me love it even more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

