2016 Book awards

It’s (about to be?) award season!  So I thought I would award some of the books I read this year and some of the characters that have read more about this year.  These are not books released in 2016, they are books I have read in 2016.  Also, priority has been given to books that are new to me this year.  

Here we go!

Best Actor aka Best Male Protagonist

Leif (Maria V Synder)

Best Actress aka Best Female Protagonist

Hermione Granger (JK Rowling)

Best Cinematography aka Best Plot Twist

One of the ones in Night Study by Maria V Synder, obviously I can’t tell because spoilers.  Sure I saw it coming about 2 chapters early, but I was sooooo excited for it to happen and for the consequences of it happening. 

Best Costume Design aka Best Book cover

The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

Best Supporting Actress and Actor aka Best M/F side character

Janco (Maria V Synder)

Professor McGonagall (JK Rowling)

Best Original screen play aka most unique world/setting

The World(s) of The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers.  This is a very expansive and complex world and I love it. 

Best Adapted screen ply aka best book-to-movie adaption

So, I haven’t actually seen a movie adaptation this year (that I know of??) but I suspect after reading Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by JK Rowling that the movie was much better (if imperfect) then the novella.

Best animated feature aka a book you want to see animated

HARRY POTTER.  Make it allllll the creepy/creative/quarky/Harry Potter-esque animation!

Best director aka best new writer discovered

Becky Chambers

Best short film aka best short story/novella

Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire

Best visual effects aka best action

Epic by Conor Kostick.  Not necessarily most action-packed book, but good ‘visual effects’ in the gaming world described.  

Best documentary aka best historical fiction/non-fiction

N/A (unless you count scientific literature, which I guess you could, but I’m not going to name off that sort of thing here)

Best picture aka best book

The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

Leave a Reply

