Real Neat Blog Award

tagI was tagged by the lovely Zezee to do this tag!  It’s taken a bit to get around to it because life is a thing that throws last minute curve-balls at you.  But here it is!

Zezee’s questions for me:

1. Do you think you would survive a zombie apocalypse?

NOPE!  I think I have the smarts to last for a while, provided I’m still in the middle of buckfuck nowhere when it starts but I lack the stamina to be able to outrun and last long term.  

2. How do you think the phrase “taste the rainbow” came about?

Honestly? Likely similar to the Mill Street Beer slogan: some intern got drunk at a party and said something that would normally be stupid to someone high up in the company, but they liked what they heard and made it a slogan. 

3. If you happened to fall into a fairy world that somehow matched who or how you are, what sort of fairy world would that be?

OOOOOOH!  A Every Heart a Doorway question!  I think it would be very earthy: trees, nature, rivers, waterfalls.  I would hope it would have magic as well, and I picture there being nice, polite fairies and other magical beings.  Hopefully dragons and griffins too.  As for it being either Logic or Nonsense, I feel like Logic would make more sense to my science side, though if there was a bit of Nonsense I think I could handle it.  Not High Nonsense, though.  If this makes no sense, go read Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire ASAP!

Do you think you’d survive in Westeros?

Again, no.  I have the smarts, but that or my lack of strength/stamina would get me killed.  Plus having a 21st century brain, I could not deal with the lack of female rights or basic hygiene. 

What your favourite book by your favourite author?

If you insist on twisting my arm and making me name only one, I think Squire by Tamora Pierce would win.  But there are sooooo many good books by her and my other favourite authors. 

If you use e-readers, what needed change would you make to them?

I don’t have an e-reader, but I do read on my phone and computer.  I think a bit more customization wold be nice but I think e-readers have that.  Another thing I would like it the ability to highlight a short quote and be able to copy/paste it other places.  I get that this becomes a copyright issue since people could copy the whole book to places, but there has to be a way to be able to copy a few short lines.  

What’s the last nonfiction book you read?

Ha, I might have read one recently just because of this question since the last ‘book’ form non-fiction I could think of was from middle school (there was likely others since, but I couldn’t think of what they were).

Working stiff: Two years, 262 bodies, and the making of a medical examiner by Judy Melinek, MD and JT Mitchell.  

I tag:

I’m going to pick the last few people that commented or liked my posts, so:

Christy Luis I know you don’t do tags on your blog, so if you feel like it you can comment your answers?
Christina at The Bookshelf Corner
James at You and I Books
The ladies at Thirce Read
A Book A Thought
Melting Pots and Other Calamities
Tiana at The Book Raven

The questions:

  1. What thing or object on a cover instantly makes you reach for that book?
  2. What is the last 1 or 2 star book you read and what one thing would have instantly made it a better book?
  3. What book older then 10 years do you really really want to read?
  4. What colour is most prevalent on your bookshelf? 
  5. What thing instantly makes any book better?
  6. Share your favourite book quote!
  7. Least favourite and most favourite book or short story you read in school

Hopefully these are interesting enough for a few of you to do this tag!  And if I didn’t tag you, because I didn’t really know who to tag, feel free to do this tag and let me know you did!

21 thoughts on “Real Neat Blog Award

  1. Thank you for tagging me! ((Is it a tag and/or award?)) I’m not sure when I’ll get to this as I already have posts for March planned out, but I will the next time there’s an opening.

    Squire by Tamora Pierce is a lovely book (so many feels!)! I love Lady Knight, Squire, First Test, then Page in that order (from that particular series).

    Liked by 1 person

      • Alright we’ll go with tag 🙂 And agreed, it’s hard to pick between Lady Knight and Squire but I think I like Lady Knight just a bit more – probably because it’s the conclusion and all the things that happen in it and I’m so proud of all that Kel has accomplished. I love Raoul, too. His character from child to adult is great. (Sorry for gushing lol)

        Liked by 1 person

      • HA! you are talking to the wrong person about gushing. I love the Protector of the Small series and will gush at anyone that will listen, so gush away!

        Lady Knight is sooooo good too. Whenever I see a ‘win a signed copy of a TP book’ I have a minor crisis about which book I would get signed because you can’t just have one signed copy of a Protector of the Small but, but it’s my favourite series of her’s so it has to be that series! And really getting Lady Knight signed would be a little less weird then Squire, but Squire, for me, inches out Lady Knight just a little bit. Likely because my childhood copies have green my favourite colour on Squire. Also Raoul and The Griffin.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lol glad to hear! It’s not often I get to gush about books with someone, especially TP books. And of for sure, getting a signed copy of one of her books would be both amazing and stressful. I think I know which cover of Squire you’re talking about. The cover edition that’s all different shades of green, right?

        Like

  2. Hey, thanks so much Nevergreen 😀 Sorry about never doing that last cool book tag you sent me- I haven’t jumped on the book tag train quite yet. But! Since you wrote such awesome questions:

    1. A sword or any piece of armor! Gets me every time haha
    2. Thankfully I haven’t had to read a ton of awful books, but I had a hard time with Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova. It looked and sounded so cool, but the magic was a complete dud.
    3. The Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb!
    4. Ah drat, I just sat down to ice my foot (plantar fasciitis, ick), so I can’t check at the moment. But I would guess blacks or beiges- lots of classics from book sales! 🙂
    5. Oooh, good one! Two things will keep me reading a book pretty much “no matter what”: atmospheric descriptions (especially of historical periods or magical things) and/or kick-butt priests/priestesses of any religion. Instant star upgrade, haha.
    6. Oh man, haha. How can I possibly choose? Well, I’ll go with my favorite book from last year, Brandon Sanderson’s The Way of Kings (big surprise haha): “The purpose of a storyteller is not to tell you how to think, but to give you questions to think upon.”
    7. Oh my, another difficult one! I’ll have to go with a tie: Hamlet and Dorothy Sayers’ The Mind of the Maker. Although I loved Tolstoy’s The Death of Ivan Ilych, too. And Eurdora Welty’s The Optimist’s Daughter. I guess my tastes run toward the short and tragic, when it comes to classics, haha. Since most are tragic, why not skip the beastly long sorts?!?

    So many great questions!! I might have to do it at some point just because 😉 Thank you so much for giving me the opportunity to answer your questions! 😘

    Liked by 1 person

  3. haha I love your theory about how “taste the rainbow” came into being! Ah I agree about the zombie apocalypse and westeros- I wouldn’t survive either!! And I still need to read that series by Tamora Pierce- I love her books! Great post- such fun questions and I loved your answers to them!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sorry I’m so late in commenting, but I’m glad to see you do the post.
    Lol! I gotta agree that silly interns are probably the inspiration behind great slogans. Interns don’t get enough cred.
    And yeahie!! You recognized my inspiration for question 3. I totally get what you mean. I do wonder if I’d be able to survive high Nonsense though or even High Logic. I think I’d be more nonsense than logic.
    I’d love to be able to easily share the passages I highlight on my ereader (especially when I want to include them in blog posts), so good suggestion there.
    And Working Stiff sounds like a book that should be paired with Smoke Gets In Your Eyes: And Other Lessons from the Crematory by Caitlin Doughty (I haven’t read it yet).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: The (Insert Name Here) Tag | The Bookshelf Corner

Leave a Reply

