Bookish Pet Peeves #4

A miscellaneous assortment of more pet peeves of mine that relate to books!  Didn’t realize I had so many strong feels about this sort of thing.

1. Double stacking bookshelves.  This is a personal thing, but I like to see all my books, so I could never stack books in front of other books on my shelf!

2. Lack of physical descriptions, or descriptions being told more then 50 pages after character is introduced.  Sure, I rarely ever picture characters (with the exceptions being when there is good cover art of the character, typically hand-drawn art (TP example here)), but I still like to know what they look like!  And not after I have had the chance to picture them wrong for chapters before being told.

3. Vague descriptions of characters.  Similar to above, I hate vague descriptions.  If your character is black, say so!  Don’t hint at things (she is dark/swarthy or his skin was a different shade then mine) in the hopes that your readers will figure it out because everyone will interpret it differently and that is why there are arguments about whether Hermione is black.  Authors/editors might think it will make the characters more relatable because you get to picture whatever, but that is part of why I can never picture characters in my head as anything more then a bloob.

4. When a book does not clearly state that it is in a series and which book in the series it is.  First books will sometimes get a pass if the author and publisher didn’t know at the time there was going to be more, but this is often a rare case, and does not apply when the covers are remade.  I get the reasons for NOT clearly indicating these things: you sell more books.  But you also catch more flies with sugar water then vinegar. 

5. Unpronounceable names.  This is a me problem that is based on my lack of language skills and my terrible ability to spell and pronounce unknown words.  Basically I’m talking about names with letters in an arrangement I’m not familiar with because it’s more typical of a language I cannot speak and I acknowledge this is a me problem, a person that learned English from birth and only has a bit of other language experience, but that is French which has similar letter arrangements and predictable pronunciations as English (kinda?).  Now when names are inspired by other languages with different letter arrangements I get confused and don’t know how to pronounce the character’s name and I don’t like it.  But it’s a me problem.  

One thought on “Bookish Pet Peeves #4

  1. I had to double stack my books in a cabinet because there was limited room and I didn’t have a bookshelf. I ended up with four copies of New Moon and two copies of Mockingjay, as well as some VC Andrews paperback doubles. Now I have a bookshelf (though I’m in need of another) and I use an app to keep track of what I own. Makes life a lot easier!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

