2017 Goals Check-in

It’s about midway through the year, which is a good time to check in on how things are progressing, goals-wise.  Perhaps make adjustments as needed.  Plus I honestly didn’t know what half my goals for this year were until I looked back at them.

1. Continue on with this Book Blogging thing 

I had a bit of a blog post slump in the second quarter (new job has me thinking in quarters now…) but I seem to be back on track.  I’m not forcing myself to post and have been posting less then previously, but there is new content on my blog.  Overall, doing good here.

2. Clear out my drafts file  

My drafts file is still a mess, even though I deleted a few posts I wasn’t going to get to last night.  But I’m thinking on how to push some out now that I’m back into the swing of things with this blog.  There’s still time for this one. 

3. Keep the number of books on my Goodreads ‘To-read’ list under the number of books in my ‘Read’ list

This goal was basically a mess to start with, but I’m still achieving it?  Basically I want to try and manage the number of books I have listed in my to-read list on Goodreads.  I have become a bit bored with BookTube and more fussy with what I add to my to-read.  Coupled with a good, steady reading mojo and periodic purging of that list and my to-read list has been fairly steady this year, sitting at just over 200, which is where I would ideally like it to be.  

4. Make better reviews 

I never specified whether this was strictly blog reviews or both blog and Goodreads, so I’m not sure if I’m achieving this goal.  My Goodreads reviews are about the same or worse and I haven’t really posted any reviews on this blog this year.  However, I have made a conscious effort to review audiobooks whenever I listen to one, as I feel this is needed in the community, so in that aspect I am doing well.  Otherwise, I need to reassess this goal and work more actively on it.  

5. Reduce the number of unread books on my bookshelf by half (of the total number I started the year with; aka have 6 or fewer unread books by year end)

If you have seen my TBR check-in posts I have gone through how I’m doing with this goal.  In sum: I’ve read a bunch of my owned, unread books but have also bought more.  Thus overall I’m at the same spot that I started and still have 6 more books to read by year end.  

6. A tough one: Stop feeling so guilty about not reading.  Conversely, stop feeling so guilty about reading.  

Funny enough, this goal is not needed anymore.  My Big Life Change TM at the beginning of the year (that messed with my blogging ability for a while) cleared away my reading guilt.  Since then I have increased my reading to a steady 5 or 6 books a month and not been guilty about reading or not!  I’m very happy about this.

There was no specific Goodreads goalbut I’m killing it anyway.  I wanted to read around 50 books in the year but wasn’t going to force myself to meet that goal.  So far I’ve read 32 and on track to read over 60 this year, something that is mind boggling to me!  The past 7 years I was in university where I wasn’t able to read and school and now I can read, guilt free, to the tune of over 60 books in a year!

Some goals I’m achieving without really thinking and committing to it:

a) More varied books:  I have read several non-fiction books this year and have enjoyed them.  I plan to continue this.  Also, I haven’t snubbed contemporary as much and read books I typically would not consider. 

b) Reviewing and empathising audiobooks.  

c) Attempting to read more and acknowledge indy and self-published books.

Overall, I’m doing well but need to reassess and commit more energy to a few goals.  One thing I want to commit to by the end of the year is finding some new favourites.  I have rated most of the books highly this year but overall have felt the books I have read were average as none have really grabbed me and I would have trouble making a list of my favourite books, something I do at the end of each year.  

Leave a Reply

