2017 reads ranked by book size

I have read a few bigger books this year, but also a few novellas and small books and I thought it would be interesting to see the various sizes of books I have read this year.  These are for the most part the editions I read (or a close approximation for the audiobooks, generally the paperback version which I tend to read more). 

663 Pages      Gemina

645 Pages      The Way of Shadows

640 Pages      Games Wizards Play

576 Pages      Bitterblue

547 Pages      Eve: the Awakening

502 Pages      The Night Circus

470 Pages      Working Stiff

448 Pages      Queen of the Tearling

464 Pages      Lirael

416 Pages      Failure is not an Option

416 Pages      Lady Knight

400 Pages      Squire

396 Pages      Beauty Queens

388 Pages      Remembrance

372 Pages      Ready Player One

369 Pages      The Martian

369 Pages      Tortall and Other Lands

368 Pages      I Contain Multitudes

359 Pages      Demonglass

346 Pages      Learning to Swear in America

336 Pages      Famous in Love

323 Pages      Hex Hall

311 Pages      Sabriel

304 Pages      Nerve

304 Pages      Truly, Madly, Famously

290 Pages      Page

288 Pages      The Gods Themselves

240 Pages      First Test

233 Pages      Matilda

189 Pages      Down Among the Sticks and Bones

144 Pages      Proposal

118 Pages      Dancing Barefoot

12 Pages        Every Girl’s Dream

Average number of pages: 11 858*

Average number of pages per day: 58*

Average pages per book: 359*

369 was the mode book, with 50% of the books having more the 369 pages. If the 12 page book was removed from the data set the average jumps up to 370, which is the same as the mode. 

A few surprises in the book size, I didn’t think some of them were as big as they were and didn’t realize I had read as many 500+ page books this year.  Also there were a few books I had forgotten I had read.  The first book I finished this year has remained the longest so far, I kinda want to try and kick it off that spot, but I’m not sure which book I would read that would supersede it.  

Now I need to stop, otherwise I will be trying to stats the crap out of this list, and graphs might start happening.  Overall, interesting to see half of a reading year organized like this. 

*101 Dalmations was a special BBC audiobook presentation of the book that was an abridged edition.  An accurate page count could not be done and it was not included in the list or the stats, but it was approx. 180 pages.   

Leave a Reply

